Picture
In the series of young adult novels The Vampire Diaries, author L. J. Smith uses vervain to protect humans from vampires.  Humans can ingest the herb to protect their blood or wear it to ward off compulsion. In the television adaptation vervain not only protects a human from compulsion by vampires, it also physically harms vampires.  When applied directly to their skin it burns similar in effect to holy water on a demon. L.J. Smith however didn't make this herb and its supernatural effects up, it has long been used in folklore.
Picture
Vervain, also called Verbena is a genus in the family Verbenaceae.
The leaves are usually opposite, simple, and in many species hairy, often densely so. The flowers are small, with five petals, and borne in dense spikes. Typically some shade of blue, they may also be white, pink, or purple.
Picture
Vervain has long been associated with divine and other supernatural forces. It was called "tears of Isis" in ancient Egypt, and later on as "Juno's tears". In ancient Greece it was dedicated to Eos Erigineia.
In the early Christian era, folk legend stated that Verbena was used to staunch Jesus' wounds after his removal from the cross. It was consequently called "holy herb" or "Devil's bane".

Vervain flowers are engraved on cimaruta, Italian anti-bewitching charms. In the 1870 The History and Practice of Magic by "Paul Christian" it is employed in the preparation of protective charms.
4/25/2013 03:28:57 am

I had to go outside and check to see if the flowers in my yard were vervain. I don't think so though. I kind of suck as herbs and plants (so not my witchy area). That would have been awesome though.

Reply
4/25/2013 05:43:27 am

I'm so glad I do have some verbena in my greenhouse, though since it's still almost winter here in Scotland I haven't seen it appear in flower yet! It's very pretty when it does. Not sure I want to eat it though! :-)

Reply
4/25/2013 05:44:10 am

Whoops that last comment was me! Nancy at <a ref=http://nancyjardine.blogspot.com/>Welcome to she said, he said</a>

Reply
JESSICA FORTUNATO
4/25/2013 06:37:47 am

It looks like a beautiful flower, I'd love to have some. Unfortunately I am a cold blooded killer of plants. For one of my science classes in high school all I had to do was keep a plant alive for 9 weeks, he cut me a break when the Ivy died, but when the aloe died he was just shocked! I under water, then over water, it's not a pretty sight.

Reply



Leave a Reply.