Picture
Now this is a secret I’ve never really told anyone, I fully believed a Phoenix was a real bird until I was easily ten years old.  I didn’t understand why my zoo was so lame as to not even have one. I figured maybe they weren’t allowed due to being a fire hazard.  However, even upon learning that they were a myth, my heart still ached to know one.  They have always fascinated me, and who knows, one day someone in the rainforest of ‘I don’t know where’ stumbles on a baby bird covered in ashes. 

Stranger things have happened.

Picture
In Greek mythology, a phoenix is a mythical bird that is a fire spirit with colorful feathers and a tail of gold and scarlet (or purple, blue, and green according to some legends). It has a 500 to 1000 year life span, near the end of which it builds itself a nest of twigs that then ignites; both nest and bird burn fiercely and are reduced to ashes, from which a new, young phoenix or phoenix egg arises, reborn anew to live again. The new phoenix is destined to live as long as its prior self.

The phoenix has become a powerful symbol of steadfastness, survival, and rebirth.  The phoenix legends and symbolism are alive all around us, aside from clothing and tattoo designs, writers such as William Shakespeare, Sylvia Plath, C.S. Lewis, among many others have all written of a phoenix.

And it should be pointed out…Dumbledore has one named Fawkes.

Picture
4/18/2013 04:52:58 am

Most people get an owl, a toad, or a rat. Voldemort had a giat snake. Dumbledore got a Phoenix. Greatest. Wizard. Ever.

Reply
4/19/2013 11:09:57 am

Ok I was older then 10... :P
It is truly a powerful symbol.

Reply

Tiktok ucuz türk takipçi satın almak için sitemizi ziyaret edin. Sayısı düşmeyen ve tiktok anlık türk takipçi satın almak web sitemizde çok kolay.

Reply



Leave a Reply.